Work at keeping your spine aligned and vitality of the Chakras will follow. The Chakra System is an ancient map of the body’s energy flow. Chakras are comparable to a household junction box which is responsible for distributing electricity throughout a home.

The seven Chakras are governed by important glands that regulate our hormones. When these energy centers or glands develop blockages general health distress occurs in the body.

There are many ways to stimulate the release of tension in the Chakra areas. Healthy eating, and practicing Yoga are a few things that can regain the vital energy balance in the body.

The First Chakra

The First Chakra, otherwise known as the Root Chakra is represented by the colour red. Scientifically speaking, this chakra is located directly at the sexual organs. Common Root Chakra issues may result in Adrenal Fatigue, constipation, swollen ankles, Eczema and cold feet to name a few. Read more about weakness in the Root Chakra by clicking here.

Warrior One Yoga Pose to Balance the Root Chakra


  • Begin by standing in Mountain Pose at the front of your mat.
  • Step one foot back into a lunge with your front knee directly over your front ankle. Angle your back foot slightly outwards and rest the sole of your back foot onto the floor. Square your hips forward as your belly button points to your front knee.
  • Lift your hands above your head as you interlock your fingers and point your index finger to the sky. Gently gaze past your hands allowing your shoulders to relax.
  • Focus on the strength of your legs. Feel your energy flowing down from your fingers past your Root Chakra area, down your legs and into the ground.

Hold for 3-5 deep belly breaths. Learn more about Yoga Poses to strengthen the Root Chakra by clicking here.

The Second Chakra

The Second Chakra which is know as the Sacral Chakra is represented by the colour orange. It is related to sexual energy and it is governed by the Endocrine System. Issues with fertility, fibroids, urinary tract infections, endometriosis cover only a few symptoms that could be a sign of a weakened Second Chakra.

Happy Baby Pose to Balance the Sacral Chakra

  • Begin by lying on your back.
  • Inhale as you bend your legs towards your chest and angle your heels towards the sky.
  • With the relative hand to each leg, gently grab your big toe as you relax your head and shoulders into the ground.
  • Concentrate on opening through the hips to stimulate the Sacral Chakra area.

Breath deeply for 3-5 breaths.

Learn more about Happy Baby Pose by following this simple video tutorial

The Third Chakra: The Solar Plexus

The Third Chakra is represented by the colour Yellow and is ruled by the Pancreas. Individuals suffering with Hyperglycemia, Diabetes, or low sex drive may have issues with this area.

Bow Pose for Solar Plexus Support


  • Start by lying on your belly.
  • Inhale as you guide the back of your left foot into your left hand and grab the back of your right foot with your right hand.
  • Strengthen the core and lengthen through the top of your belly. Open your chest as you gaze forward.

Drop your shoulders away from the ears and hold this pose for 2-5 breaths. Focus on stimulating the Third Chakra area.

The Fourth Chakra aka. Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra, represented by the colour green and pink, is controlled by the flow of chemicals released by our Thymus Gland. Heart disorders, circulatory issues, muscle spasms and breathing problems could be a sign of a Fourth Chakra imbalance.

Eagle Pose for Heart Chakra Balance


Eagle Pose is a very powerful and tricky pose to master. There are many variations of this pose that will stimulate the Thymus Gland and benefit your Heart Chakra. See this step by step instruction to guide your body into Full Eagle Pose.

Fifth Chakra – The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is mastered by the Thyroid Gland and represented by the colour blue. People with metabolic disorders, tonsillitis, throat infections, bronchitis are often needing Fifth Chakra stimulation.

Singing for the Throat Chakra


Chanting was used in the ancient days of Yoga practice. However, belting out your favorite song will certainly stimulate your Throat Chakra. Even simple humming, laughing or playing a wind instrument will help release tensions in the throat and stimulate the Thyroid Gland.

The Six and Seventh Chakra

The last two Chakras of the body are located very close together and often affect each other, they are also represented by the colours indigo and violet. The area between the eyes is known as the Third Eye Chakra (Sixth Chakra) and is stimulated by the pineal gland. The top of the head is known as the Crown Chakra (Seventh Chakra) and is ruled by the pituitary gland.

Meditating for the Third Eye and Crown Chakras


The best way to sooth the brain, and the Sixth and Seventh Chakras, is to find some relaxing time to reflect. Closing the eyes, relaxing the face muscles and meditating on positive throughs release tensions not only in the brain, but all over the body. There are many relaxing meditation videos available online to sooth the inner mind.

The best way to stimulate all Seven Chakras at once is to find a relaxing place outdoors, sit with your back straight and legs crossed on the ground. Concentrate on deep breaths and let the sound of nature bring harmony and balance back into your body.


Kaeli Yarwood

Kaeli has always had an infatuation with keeping fit and improving life. Whether it is strength training, endurance building, or self-study research, she has devoted endless hours to them all. Her interest in health started at an early age. From swim competitions to long distance running, she discovered that keeping fit is an integral part of her life. After being diagnosed with... Read More

Comments are closed.

Loading more awesome...
Load More